The 12 Laws Of Karma: How To Attract More Good Into Your Life

The 12 Laws Of Karma: How To Attract More Good Into Your Life

Karma is one of the most recognizable concepts in Eastern spirituality - but it’s also often misunderstood.

Karma is a Sanskrit word that means “action” or “deed”. It’s referenced in many religions such as Hinduism, Buddhism, Taoism, Sikhism, and Jainism. And although the concept is portrayed differently in each of these schools of thought, the core meaning remains the same.

The law of Karma states that for every action, there is a corresponding effect. It is not only with actions but also thoughts and intentions. In certain religious beliefs on reincarnation, it is Karma that governs the self into the process of rebirth. So good deeds = a positive effect in the next life. While bad deeds = a negative effect in the next life. 

But since actions are also not always just good or just bad, Karma can also be both. 

For instance, if you help someone carry their groceries out because you see them struggle and just want to help, that is good Karma. 

But if you see their car is expensive and ask them for money after, the pure intention of your first deed changed. 

There’s also the possibility of good intentions and bad actions: like wanting to help a family member in need, but stealing money in order to give to them (which would still result in bad Karma).

“Realize that everything connects to everything else.”

– Leonardo Da Vinci


Karma is an ongoing process and involves not only the past but also present, and the future. Your thoughts in your past lives have an effect on your present life, and your present actions have an effect on your future life. Your current actions can also have an impact in your present life.

Karma explains why bad things happen to good people. The person may not have a bad bone in their body in the present and suffer from unfortunate events, not due to his or her present actions, but because of actions that were done in a previous life. 

But not to worry because when someone suffers from bad Karma, it doesn’t mean that’s already his or her fate. In Hinduism, bad Karma can be offset by doing good deeds. Karma can also be offset by present actions so if you had good Karma from past life, if you do something bad it can offset. 

The 12 Laws of Karma 

There are the 12 basic and simple laws that rule Karma. By following these regularly, you can attract good Karma into your life. 

Follow these laws, and you’ll find yourself attracting good Karma: both in the present and future.


When you understand the cause and effect of your thoughts and actions, you can go inward and connect with who you are even more. And when we all can connect inside that way, we can connect with each other better as well. Karma makes the world go ‘round!


Curations of the Week:

Purple: Good Karma’s Favorite Color

The color purple serves as an amplifier of the positive thoughts and actions you put out into the Universe. It’s also a soothing color for the mind and the nerves. The stone Amethyst which is often a purple hue, is known to instill feelings of understanding, calmness, trust, and grace - while also cleansing one’s energy and attracting good Karma.