Chakras, Energy Flow and Essential Oils

Chakras, Energy Flow and Essential Oils

Chakras are the energy centers in the human body that facilitate the flow of energy. They are linked to mental, physical and spiritual well-being. By understanding what each chakra represents and what you can do to stimulate the flow of energy through the chakra, you may be able to achieve an optimal quality of life. Below you will find how you can use essential oils and certain spices to stimulate the chakras.

Root Chakra

The first chakra is called muladhara and is associated with the color red. It is located at the base of the spine. Muladhara is associated with survival and your comfort in the present moment and in your environment. It governs your sense of stability and security. If you feel insecure, antsy, distracted or insecure, you can diffuse and breathe in essential oils such as basil, cedarwood, cilantro, myrrth, patchouli, or a blend of any of these.

Sacral Chakra

The second chakra is called svadhisthana and is associated with the color orange. It is found in the low belly, right below the navel. Svadhisthana governs your sexuality and authentic creativity. It also is associated with abundance and personal power. To activate your sacral chakra, diffuse cinnamon, tangerine or orange essential oils. You can also rub a couple of drops of orange or tangerine oil right below the navel or on the sacrum, or apply 1 or 2 drops directly under the tongue (the cinnamon oil will be too potent for these latter applications).

Solar Plexus Chakra

The third chakra, manipura, is located at the solar plexus, which is a cluster of nerves located behind the stomach and below the ribcage. Associated with the color yellow, this chakra governs your self-confidence and self-esteem. It is the link to your inner-child, the ego and your will, as well as to the fun and joy you find in life. To stimulate your solar plexus chakra, you can diffuse coriander, ginger or grapefruit essential oils, or apply a couple of drops directly around the stomach area. You can also use clove, coriander or ginger essential oils in a variety of dishes, or use the natural form of these spices. Drinking tea made out of fresh ginger is also a great option.

Heart Chakra

The fourth chakra is located at the heart region and is associated with the color green. In Sanskrit it is called anahata. It is said that the heart chakra governs your joy, inner peace and your compassion, for yourself and for others. Love, self-love and acceptance originate in the heart chakra. Essential oils such as eucalyptus, melaleuca, peppermint, and ylang ylang can be used to activate the heart chakra. You can apply one or two drops of any of these oils directly to the heart region, or diffuse and breathe in. A drop of peppermint can also be taken under the tongue, but be cautious not to get it into or around the eyes.

Third Eye or Brow Chakra

The sixth chakra, associated with the color indigo, is known as ajna and is located in the middle of the forehead, right above the brow line. Some link the brow chakra with the pituitary gland, which governs the development and function of other endocrine glands; others link this chakra to the pineal gland, which is said to be our third-eye and the seat of the soul. Ajna helps harmonize the opposing energies in the body – the yin and the yang – improving your mental focus and your ability to meditate. It is said to govern your intuition, clairvoyance and imagination, and, in general, your higher mental abilities. Essential oils that increase focus, improve memory and relieve anxiety, such as lemongrass, lavender, frankincense, and sandalwood, can help heal any imbalances in the brow chakra. The best application is to rub a drop of oil on the third eye area, or inhale the aroma of the oil directly. You can also place a drop of lavender or frankincense under the tongue.

Crown Chakra

The seventh and final chakra is located at the top of the head, or the crown, and is called sahasrara. This is the accumulation of all of the chakras and is represented by the colors violet or white. It symbolizes the conscious and unconscious belief system. It is said that the crown chakra governs the purpose of your life journey, your connection to spirituality, and your union with the higher self or higher consciousness. To stimulate this chakra, rub a drop of frankincense, Roman chamomile, lavender, rosemary or sandalwood on the crown. You can also inhale the aroma of the oils directly or place a drop of frankincense under the tongue.

Imagine getting a professional "tune up" for your mind, body, and spirit — so that you are energetically (in balance and...) in harmony. Both bracelets in this bundle  were handmade by artisans WHILE a specific ancient Sanskrit mantra (used for thousands of years, specifically for healing) — were recited by a buddhist monk.


This article was originally created and published by Waking Times and is published here under a Creative Commons license with attribution to Anna Hunt and It may be re-posted freely with proper attribution, author bio, and this copyright statement.